Interview with a pin up girl

Interview with a Pin- Up Girl is an article that will figure in my magazine , but given to the lack of space , it is a shame that it will figure only in the table of contents.The pictures taken and edited by me , were made in a ,,home made”studio .The setting is fully done by me , the styling , the hair and the make-up are also done by me. The  star of this interview is a pin up model  that made succeeded both in music and fashion .The fictional character is called MJ Tesse, .The model is Lada Franulovic , one of my friends.

I have even invented a mock interview.

What got you interested in pin-up modeling?

“I knew from an early age that I had a love for pinup…I just was not sure at the time what pinup was. I grew up pretending I was Jessica Rabbit; trying on my mother’s dresses, shoes, and jewelry. We had this red bath towel and after bath time I would wrap it around myself pretending I was a lounge singer. My family consists mostly of women. All of these women in my eyes were some of the most glamorous women I had ever seen. Not only were they ladies, they were gorgeous, and strong. I knew that when I grew up that I wanted to be feminine, fabulous, and fierce. I developed a love for American history and car culture at an early age; staring at the girls in car calendars, watching them at car shows, and remembering how glamorous they seemed to be. I may have played with Barbie, but just as equally I loved my hot wheels, trains, and trucks. My love for all things that are beautiful, go fast, and have a part of American history collided once I became a hair stylist. I became obsessed with the 40s and 50s for styling and landed a spot volunteering at our history museum doing WWII hair and makeup. This led me to an opportunity to work with Cavalcade of Customs Car Show in Cincinnati. I was asked if I wanted to do hair for their pinup contest. I thought that it would be a great way to make friends with like-minded people in love with the 40s and 50s and also pass out a few business cards. They ended up finding someone else to do the hair for the show, but they suggested that I be in the contest. I thought it would be a great way to meet people and gain business. Little did I know that it would change my life forever. I won. I continued competing, and continued winning, and I have not stopped since. I always dressed different, knew that I was different, acted a little different…pinup has been a way for me to express and be proud of being different. I find strength and power from my femininity.”

Who are your inspirations?

“I get inspired by people on a daily basis…including by strangers. I am inspired by kind spirits and good people. If I had to name a few, I would say my grandmothers, my mother and aunts, and Audrey Hepburn. I love that she spent most of her time in her later years helping children…and that is something that I am very interested in doing. I am also inspired by Lucille Ball for the laughter and joy she brought to many.”

Favorite outfit to wear on a sunny day?

 

“My favorite outfit to wear on a sunny day would have to be either a gingham dress or playsuit accompanied with matching espadrills, a scarf to wrap in my hair, and a lucite purse of any kind. (I am slightly obsessed with them).”

Favorite clothing brands?

“I love making my own clothes from vintage patterns and fabric, Pinup Girl Clothing, Bettie Page by Tatyana, Lucky13 of course, Steady…it’s so hard to choose because I also love wearing actual vintage brands like Elinor Gay or custom items created by God only knows who because there is not a tag!”

Desert Island top 5 favorite songs?

1. “Daddy’s Home” by The Delfonics

2. “Be My Baby” by The Ronettes 3.

3. “(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay” by Otis Redding

4. “What a Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong

5. “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry” by Hank Williams Sr.

Future goals?

“I have far too many goals to count! I want to continue volunteering my time by helping others feel confident in themselves and teaching them to embrace what makes them different, own it, and use it to create their own world of happiness…even if it is just one person at a time…it is so worth it. I want to teach women that they can gain strength and power through femininity and comraddery. We do not have to compete with each other so much…we should work together. I dream of designing and creating my own dress line. I always say that I hope one day in the far, far, distant future that a young girl finds a framed photo of me in an antique mall and hangs me up on her wall for inspiration. I just want to make people happy and feel positive about themselves.”

Name one item in your closet that you’re obsessed with.

“I am obsessed with lucite purses, but one particular one that I personally own. It is an Atomic Lucite purse that looks like it has tinsel shooting out of it everywhere like starbursts. I stared at it for such a long period of time…we are talking months and months, and finally broke down on my birthday and bought it for myself.”

How did you feel when you won Viva?

“I was honestly in a state of shock when I won Viva. It was my first year actually attending the event. Being a contestant was enough of an honor for me. I did not expect to win at all. Even thinking of that moment in front of all of those people when they announced my name brings tears to my eyes. It was so amazing to finally have the feeling of acceptance amongst like minded people. After years and years of being bullied as a child, I embraced my inner weird and went with it. It was the best feeling that I have ever had in my life to be around so many people who shared that same inner weirdness and welcomed me with open arms. I was speechless…and still am.”

Leave a Reply

